• Call: +91 991 146 6478
    • Email us: info@exploreindia.xyz


पंचतंत्र-panchatantra stories list

Panchatantra Tales

Story behind Panchatantra tales 

The legend goes that King Amarashakti, who used to rule Mahilaropya in southern India, had three dull-headed sons. The king appointed scholar Vishnu Sharma to educate them.

After realizing that conventional tools and techniques of teaching will not work with his new students, Vishnu Sharma decided to write a collection of more than 50 stories that focused on five strategies:

Book 1: The Gaining of Friends features stories that talk about how to win friends.
Book 2: The Separation of Friends features stories about how one can lose friends.
Book 3: Ill-Considered Actions tells us how we can lose what is important to us when we act without thinking.
Book 4: Loss of Gains tells us that it is always possible to get out of a difficult situation without losing anything.
Book 5: Of Crows and Owls features stories that talk about the strategies and rules of war and peace.
The collection is divided into five volumes, and hence the name Panchatantra (‘pancha’ means five and ‘tantra’ means systems).

The Panchatantra was translated into a number of languages, including English, Persian, Arabic, Hebrew, Spanish, Greek, Syriac and almost all Indian languages. The German version of the Panchatantra was one of the earliest books that the Gutenberg Press printed after the Bible.


× How can I help you?